Woodley and Thompson rematch at UFC 209, Nurmagomedov vs. Ferguson in co-main event

Challenger Stephen Thompson gets his second shot at welterweight champion Tyron Woodley as the two rematch in the main event of UFC 209, Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Tony Ferguson for the interim lightweight title serves as the co-main event.  UFC 209 takes place March 4th at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, NV with three fights webcast at UFC Fight Pass, four broadcast on Fox Sports 1, and a five-fight main card broadcast as a pay-per-view.

Tyron Woodley

16-3-1 Tyron Woodley won the UFC welterweight title with a KO of teammate Robbie Lawler at UFC 201 last July, a fight that extended Woodley’s win streak to three in a row.  At UFC 205 Woodley made his first defense of the belt against Stephen Thompson however the fight was ruled a majority draw after five rounds in a bout that earned both fighters a “Fight of the Night” bonus.  In MMA Thompson is 13-1-1 with his last loss being a unanimous decision against Matt Brown at UFC 145 in April 2012.  Since that loss Thompson earned the #1 ranking with seven wins, his most recent win being a unanimous decision over Rory MacDonald in June of last year.

The co-main event shows the effect current champion Conor McGregor is having on the division as an interim belt is on the line.  #1 ranked Khabib Nurmagomedov is undefeated at 24-0, 8-0 in the UFC.  Nurmagomedov defeated former champion Rafael dos Anjos in April 2014 then took two years off before returning to defeat Darrell Horcher last April and most recently Michael Johnson in November.  22-3 Tony Ferguson earned the #2 ranking with a nine-fight win streak, his most recent loss being in May 2012 to Michael Johnson who still holds the #7 slot.  Since Nurmagomedov returned Ferguson defeated Lando Vannata and most recently former champion Rafael dos Anjos.

Prelims at UFC Fight Pass

  • BW: Albert Morales vs. Andre Soukhamthath
  • W Strawweight: Amanda Cooper vs. Cynthia Calvillo
  • LHW: Tyson Pedro vs. Paul Craig

Prelims on Fox Sports 1

  • HW: Mark Godbeer vs. Daniel Spitz
  • BW: Iuri Alcantara vs. Luke Sanders
  • FW: Mirsad Bektic vs. Darren Elkins
  • HW: Marcin Tybura vs. Luis Henrique

Main card

  • HW: Alistair Overeem vs. Mark Hunt
  • LW: Lando Vannata vs. David Teymur
  • MW: Rashad Evans vs. Dan Kelly
  • Interim LW title: Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Tony Ferguson
  • WW title: Tyron Woodley vs. Stephen Thompson