Webb returns from injury to defend WW title against Harshbarger at CFFC 47

Jonavin Webb on topUndefeated Cage Fury Fighting Championships welterweight champion Jonavin Webb returns to defend the belt against Elijah Harshbarger, a bit surprising considering recent history.  CFFC 47 takes place March 7th at the Sands Casino in Bethlehem, PA with a main card webcast at GoFightLive.

Webb last fought last November where former Bellator champion Lyman Good threw two inadvertent eye pokes that prevented Webb from continuing.  Since then Good fought Micah Terrill for the interim belt in February, a show where Webb revealed he was likely to return in May presumably to rematch Good.  Flash forward two weeks and Webb was announced for this bout, no confirmation is available on if Good will get the winner or what Elijah Harshbargerwill happen to Good’s interim belt should Webb be called up to the UFC.

Prior to the Good “no contest” Webb was unstoppable, not only going 7-0 but having little trouble doing so.  The best that can be said of his opponents so far is Mike Winters and Jason Lee made it to decisions even though both were unanimous for Webb.  Webb won the title with a third-round TKO of Daniel Stittgen at CFFC 38 last August while Good was the first defense.  7-4 Harshbarger makes his CFFC debut in this fight.  After suffering losses to UFC vet Pete Sell and Bellator vet Nicolae Cury in 2011 Harshbarger took 27 months off before returning in January to defeat Chris Cope by rear-naked choke in ROC.

Azunna Anyanwu on topIn the co-main event former CFFC heavyweight champion Azunna Anyanwu takes on Lewis Rumsey.  7-3 Anyanwu won the belt with a TKO of Joe Stripling and defended it with a KO of Keith Bell before losing it by unanimous decision to Plinio Cruz in a battle that saw Anyanwu uncharacteristically hesitant to throw.  11-10 Rumsey is mainly known for his loss to Joey Kirwan in Bellator back in October 2011 but has won his last two fights, a TKO of Mike Stewart and a unanimous decision over Stripling.

CFFC 47 card

  • Tim Kunkel vs. Marcus Surin
  • Thad Frick vs. Chris Sladky
  • Scott Heckman vs. Jay Haas
  • Jerome Isip vs. Patrick White
  • Cody Mooney vs. Thiago Carfi
  • Zach Maslany vs. Rob Jimenez
  • Azunna Anyanwu vs. Lewis Rumsey
  • WW title: Jonavin Webb vs. Elijah Harshbarger