Webb remains undefeated, defends WW belt with guillotine choke of Harshbarger at CFFC 47

Jonavin Webb looked back to form as he defended the Cage Fury Fighting Championships welterweight title against Elijah Harshbarger, Webb’s first title defense if one doesn’t count the “no contest” against Lyman Good.  CFFC 47 took place March 7th at the Sands Casino in Bethlehem, PA with a main card webcast through GoFightLive.

Webb started the fight firing off leg kicks and the occasional left jab while Harshbarger seemed to be waiting for the inevitable rush.  When Webb did close in Harshbarger was actually the one to take down Webb who latched on a guillotine choke from half guard, getting the tap at 1:05 of the first round.  Webb remains undefeated at 8-0 while Harshbarger drops to 7-5.  At this point there is no confirmation on if Webb’s next fight will be a rematch against interim champion Good.

The co-main event was also a first-round submission as Jay Haas used a triangle choke to defeat former CFFC featherweight champion Scott Heckman.  14-14 Haas who had a very disappointing run from 2012-May of last year secured his sixth submission win for his second victory in a row.  Heckman who holds 12 wins of his 18-7 career by submission takes his second loss in a row.

Also on the card former heavyweight champion Azunna Anyanwu got back in the win column with a first-round TKO of Lewis Rumsey.  Anyanwu may have looked flat in the bout with Plinio Cruz which cost Anyanwu the belt but in this fight he looked for the most part back to form.  Anyanwu improves to 8-3 with five wins by KO/TKO, Rumsey who previously hadn’t previously lost by KO/TKO took his first such loss to exit 11-11.

Next up for CFFC is a return to the Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa on May 9th.  So far no card is available for that event.

CFFC 47 results

  • Marcus Surin def. Tim Kunkel R3 by triangle choke
  • Pat White def. Jay Isip R2 by kneebar
  • Sergio Da Silva def. Zach Maslany by unanimous decision
  • Thad Frick def. Chris Sladky by unanimous decision
  • Azunna Anyanwu def. Lewis Rumsey R1 by TKO
  • Jay Haas def. Scott Heckman R1 by triangle choke
  • WW title: Jonavin Webb def. Elijah Harshbarger R1 by guillotine choke