Sharipov and Ribeiro fight for featherweight title at XFC 27

Deivison RibeiroXtreme Fighting Championships finish their 2013 season this weekend with a featherweight title fight between Bellator vet Farkhad Sharipov and promotional standout Deivison Ribeiro.  Interestingly XFC currently have only three belts, two of which are held by women, this makes the fourth.  XFC 27 takes place December 13th at the L.C. Walker Arena in Muskegon, MI with a main card broadcast on AXS TV.

Farkhad SharipovRibeiro was last seen just two months ago picking up a first-round TKO over Jason Hicks at XFC in October, his tenth KO/TKO of his 24-9-1 career.  Sharipov is mainly known for going 1-2 in Bellator but since leaving the second-largest promotion Sharipov picked up a TKO win over Stephen Bass in September leaving him at 14-5.  This looks like it will turn out a standup war likely to go the distance, Sharipov widely thought to have the advantage in the later rounds and Ribeiro in the early stages.

Eric ReynoldsAlso on the main card Eric Reynolds continues his push back towards a lightweight title fight as he takes on Joe Elmore.  Since losing to firmer champion Nick Newell 18-6 Reynolds defeated Kevin Forant in XFC then surprisingly took a fight in Cage 23 where he defeated Anton Kuivanen.  Joe Elmore on leftBellator vet Joe Elmore hasn't competed since his KO of Jerrid Burke at Bellator 88 in February, his second KO/TKO of his 7-5 career.

J.P. ReeseBellator vets vs. up-and-comers seems to be the theme of the night as Bellator vet J.P. Reese takes on Daniel Swain.  Reese broke his three-fight losing streak with a unanimous decision over Billy Quarantillo only five weeks ago leaving the wrestling-based fighter at 10-7.  AKA's Swain sits on four wins in a row for an overall record of 10-2 following a TKO of Tomonari Kanomata in Pancrase.

Fight card:

  • Joel Vincent vs. Jacob Butler
  • Roy Saldana vs. Andres Torres
  • Drew Morais vs. David Rohn
  • Andy Carter vs. Kenneth Green
  • Marcus Reynolds vs. Dequan Townsend
  • Ryan Thomas vs. Dominique Steele
  • Dave Courchaine vs. Alexander Trevino
  • Stephanie Skinner vs. Angela Hill
  • Shamir Garcia vs. Ray Lopez
  • Eric Reynolds vs. Joe Elmore
  • J.P. Reese vs. Daniel Swain
  • FW title: Farkhad Sharipov vs. Deivison Ribeiro