Road to Glory UK Winner Jamie Bates Headlines 40 Superfight Series against Richard Abraham


Road to GLORY UK Welterweight Superfight Winner Jamie Bates Debuts
Against Richard Abraham in GLORY 40 SuperSeries Headline Bout
Opponents for local favorites Niclas Larsen and Mohammed El-Mir revealed

AMSTERDAM – GLORY today announced the headline bout for GLORY 40 SuperFight Series and three additional bouts – across GLORY 40 Copenhagen and GLORY 40 SuperFight Series fight cards – as the organization returns to Forum Copenhagen in Denmark on Saturday, April 29.

One week removed from his impressive performance at Road to GLORY UK, welterweight contract winner Jamie Bates (24-6) of England has scheduled his debut on the big stage, taking on No. 6 ranked Richard “Maximus” Abraham (11-4, 4 KO) in the headline bout of GLORY 40 SuperFight Series.

Bates defeated Kev Ward via unanimous decision in their welterweight superfight at Road to GLORY UK on March 11, earning a two-fight contract with the world’s premier kickboxing league. The American Abraham looks to bounce back quickly after dropping a razor close decision to young star Antoine Pinto at GLORY 38 Chicago in February.

Also announced for GLORY 40 SuperFight Series is a co-headline match-up between Danish lightweight Mohammed “The Desert Storm” El-Mir (113-22, 33 KO) and Norwegian Muay Thai champion Simon “The Fury” Santana (37-12-1, 12 KO).

Plus, New York native Chris Mauceri (7-3, 2 KO) and Chinese newcomer Yuhang Xie get the night’s action started at featherweight.

The complete five-fight card for GLORY 40 SuperFight Series can be found below:

GLORY 40 SuperFight Series

  • Welterweight Headline Bout: Richard Abraham vs. Jamie Bates
  • Lightweight Co-Headline Bout: Mohammed El-Mir vs. Simon Santana
  • Light Heavyweight Bout: Freddy Kemayo vs. Imad Hadar
  • Lightweight Bout: Josh Janucey vs. Antonio Gomez
  • Featherweight Bout: Yuhang Xie vs. Chris Mauceri

GLORY 40 SuperFight Series streams live and exclusively on UFC FIGHT PASS Saturday, April 29 at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT.

GLORY 40 Copenhagen follows GLORY 40 SuperFight Series, and in the co-headline bout, Danish product and No. 9 ranked lightweight Niclas “The Destroyer” Larsen (45-8-2, 24 KO) battles Thailand’s Yodkhunpon (83-22-1, 51 KO), currently ranked No. 5.

Middleweight world champion Jason “Psycho” Wilnis (30-6-1, 8 KO) headlines GLORY 40 Copenhagen, taking on Canadian challenger Simon “The ONE” Marcus (45-3-2, 24 KO). Wilnis and Marcus have fought twice previously, trading wins. Heading into the rubber match of this trilogy fight, Marcus is the No.1 contender after losing his title to Wilnis in a shocking upset at GLORY 33 New Jersey in September.

The complete five-fight card for GLORY 40 Copenhagen can be found below:

GLORY 40 Copenhagen

  • Middleweight World Title Headline Bout: Jason Wilnis vs. Simon Marcus
  • Lightweight Co-Headline Bout: Niclas Larsen vs. Yodkhunpon
  • Middleweight Tournament Final Bout: Winner of Bout A vs. Winner of Bout B
  • Middleweight Tournament Semifinal Bout B: Alex Pereira vs. Burim Rama
  • Middleweight Tournament Semifinal Bout A: Yousri Belgaroui vs. Agron Preteni

GLORY 40 Copenhagen airs live on ESPN2 Saturday, April 29 at 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT.