Ribeiro defeats Sharipov, takes vacant FW title at XFC 27

With a hard-fought unanimous decision Deivison Francisco Ribeiro took the vacant Xtreme Fighting Championships featherweight title, defeating Bellator vet Farkhad Sharipov after five rounds.  XFC 27 took place December 13th at the L.C. Walker Arena in Muskegon, MI with a live broadcast on AXS TV.

For most of the five rounds Sharipov was the aggressor, moving forward to press the action but frequently doing so into the right hand of Ribeiro.  Ribeiro managed to continue to push into the fourth and fifth rounds but was for the most part unableto instill his gameplan as Ribeiro continued to land the more effective strikes.  With the victory Ribeiro improves to 26-9-1 while Sharipov drops to 14-6.

In the co-main event Dom O’Grady weathered the early storm of Eric Reynolds until he secured a rear-naked choke in the second. Reynolds kept his distance for strikes in the first round but O’Grady took him down in the second and latched on the submission.  Reynolds managed to stand but after falling back to the ground with O’Grady still holding on the choke was tightened and the end came at 1:42.

XFC 27 results:

Jacob Butler def. Joel Vincent 2:15 R1 by TKO
Roy Saldana def. Andres Torres 2:34 R2 by rear-naked choke
Drew Morais def. David Rohn 2:09 r1 by guillotine choke
Shamir Garcia def. Ray Lopez 4:32 R3 by submission
Dominique Steel def. Ryan Thomas by unanimous decision
J.P. Reese def. Daniel Swain 3:37 R3 by arm-triangle choke
Dequan Townsend def. Marcus Reynolds 2:52 R3 byKO
Dave Courchaine def. Alexander Trevino 0:37 R2 by KO
Dom O’Grady def. Eric Reynolds 1:42 R2 by rear-naked choke
FW title: Deivison Francisco Ribeiro def. Farkhad Sharipov by unanimous decision