Nguyen defeats Folayang, becomes first two-division champion at One Championship “Legends of the World”

Martin Nguyen made history in One Championship becoming the first two-division champion as he added the lightweight title to his one at featherweight.  One Championship 65, aka One Championship “Legends of the World, took place November 10th at the Mall of Asia Arena in Manila, Philippines with an iPPV through the promotion’s website.

It was a beautiful counter by Martin Nguyen to a spinning kick of Eduard Folayang that sealed the fight.  As Folayang spun for the kick Nguyen moved forward and landed a straight right to the jaw of the defending champion sending him crashing to the mat.  Nguyen then descended on his prone opponent but before he could land any significant strikes the fight was called.  Nguyen emerged with his second world title and a record of 10-1, Folayang fell to 18-6.

In the co-main event Adriano Moraes successfully defended the flyweight title for the first time of his second reign.  Moraes dominated the fight from the opening bell taking the challenger down and taking his back in less than a minute.  Kingad managed to hold on for much of the fight until with fifteen seconds left Moraes finally sunk in the rear-naked choke for the win.  Mores’ record improved to 17-2 with four wins in a row, his only loss in nine fights or three years being to Kairat Akhmetov who Moraes defeated in a rematch.  Kingad’s record dropped to 5-1.

One Championship return on November 24th where former Bellator champion Ben Askren defends the One Championship welterweight title against former lightweight champion Shinya Aoki.


  • Xuewen Peng def .Phat Soda 2:17 R1 by KO
  • Chao Xie def. Kelvin Ong 1:48 R1 by TKO
  • Joshua Pacio def. Roy Doliguez 0:38 R2 by KO
  • Gina Iniong def. Priscilla Lumban Gaol 2:12 R2 by TKO
  • Zhikang Zhao def. Thai Rithy 2:28 R1 by rear-naked choke
  • Reece McLaren def. Anatpong Bunrad 3:08 R1 by brabo choke
  • Alex Silva def. Hayato Suzuki 1:22 R1 by armbar
  • Kevin Belingon def. Kevin Chung by unanimous decision
  • Flyweight title: Adriano Moraes def. Danny Kingad 4:45 R1 by rear-naked choke
  • LW title: Martin Nguyen def. Eduard Folayang 2:20 R2 by KO