Mitrione takes majority decision over Nelson, advances to GP semi-finals

Matt Mitrione slid past fellow UFC vet Roy Nelson to take a majority decision in the quarterfinals of Bellator’s 2018 heavyweight grand prix.  Bellator 194 took place February 16th at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, CT with prelims webcast at, a main card broadcast on the Paramount Network.

Matt Mitrione did most of his scoring in the first half of the main event against Roy Nelson while Nelson came back to take the second half of the fight.  For the entire fight Mitrione stuck to a jab and inside leg kick strategy, Nelson plowed forward for takedowns and scoring from top control.  With the fight hanging on the crucial second round Mitrione was awarded the majority decision to slide past Nelson into the semifinals where he faces the winner of the May 12th fight between Ryan Bader and Muhammed Lawal.  Mitrione now stands 13-5 with four wins in a row in Bellator, Nelson dropped to 23-15.

Patricky Freire picked up a first-round TKO over Derek Campos in the co-main event.  Campos backed Freire to the fence but as a striking exchange ensued Freire landed a left hand that knocked Campos down.  Freire followed Campos to the mat to fire off a flurry of punches that caused the TKO at the 2:23 mark.  Freire’s twelfth career KO/TKO imprived his record to 19-8 with three wins in a row, Campos fell to 19-7 with his four-fight win streak broken.

Up next Bellator return to Oklahoma for Bellator 195.  In the main event Darrion Caldwell defends the bantamweight title against Leandro Higo while the co-main event features Joe Warren vs. Joe Taimanglo.

Bellator 194 results

  • Pat Casey def. Tyler Hamilton by unanimous decision
  • Kastriot Xhema def. Peter Nascimento 3:52 R1 by TKO
  • Marcus Surin def. Dean Hancock 4:50 R2 by arm-triangle choke
  • Jarod Trice def. Walter Howard by majority decision
  • Regivaldo Carvalho def. Thomas English 0:17 R1 by KO
  • Mike Kimbel def. Geoffrey Then 1:03 R1 by KO
  • Ross Richardson def. Ronie Arana Leon 1:41 R2 by TKO
  • Tywan Claxton def. Jose Perez 3:39 R2 by TKO
  • Vadim Nemkov def. Liam McGeary 4:02 R3 by TKO
  • Heather Hardy def. Ana Julaton by unanimous decision
  • Patricky Freire def. Derek Campos 2:23 R1 by TKO
  • HW Grand Prix quarterfinals: Matt Mitrione def. Roy Nelson by majority decision