McDonald, Letourneau victorious at Bellator 191

After twenty-eight events Bellator MMA wrapped up their 2017 season with Bellator 191.  To the surprise of hardly anybody UFC vets Michael McDonald and Valerie Letourneau both claimed victories on the card which was a co-promotion with BAMMA.  Bellator 191 took place December 15th at the Metro Arena in Newcastle, England with one fight webcast at, four fights broadcast on AXS TV.

Michael McDonald fought through a broken hand to out-point Peter Ligier in the main event.  The first two rounds took place mostly on the feet with McDonald beating Ligier to the punch but an overhand right caused the injury.  In the third switched to a ground-based strategy and rode out the clock to take the unanimous decision.  McDonald’s record improved to 18-4 with this being his first fight since leaving the UFC, Ligier’s promotional debut snapped his four-win streak to leave his record 8-2.

Valerie Letourneau used a counter-punching strategy to win a unanimous decision over Kate Jackson in the co-main event.  Letourneau cut Jackson in the first round and bloodied her nose in the third while Jackson’s attempt to take the fight to the ground in the second resulted in Letourneau going for a triangle choke and armbar.  After three rather competitive rounds Letourneau took the close but unanimous decision to emerge 9-6 with her three-fight losing streak broken.  Jackson earned respect as her record dropped to 9-3 with her five-fight win streak broken.

Bellator start off 2018 with ambitious plans.  The first event will be January 20th where Douglas Lima defends the welterweight title while the co-main event features the first fight in the Grand Prix opening round as Quinton Jackson takes on Chael Sonnen.

Bellator 191 results

  • Mohammad Yahya def. Ash Griffiths 3:26 R1 by TKO
  • Jeremy Petley def. Lewis Monarch by split decision
  • Philip De Fries def. James Thompson 1:33 R1 by guillotine choke
  • Valerie Letourneau def. Kate Jackson by unanimous decision
  • Michael McDonald def. Peter Ligier by unanimous decision