Leite defends MW MMA title, Van Engelen wins LHW kickboxing tournament at LFC 48

A split MMA and kickboxing card held two Legacy Fighting Championship titles at LFC 48 with Leonardo Leite defending the MMA middleweight belt and Andres van Engelen claiming the inaugural kickboxing light heavyweight title.  LFC 48 took place November 13th at the Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino in Lake Charles, LA with a main card broadcast on AXS TV.

Leonardo Leite’s first defense of the middleweight belt was based entirely on ground control.  Leite survived being knocked down in the first round to take Ryan Spann to the canvas over and over throughout the five rounds.  Although not able to mount much of an offense Leite dominated positions maintaining to control in all five rounds and taking full mount twice.  Spann deserves credit for staying out of serious trouble but the judges’ decision was no surprise as Leite remained undefeated at 7-0, Spann dropped to 8-2.

On the kickboxing side of the show Andres van Engelen took the inaugural LFC kickboxing light heavyweight crown upon winning the single-night four-man tournament.  In the semifinals van Engelen defeated former LFC MMA champion Myron Dennis in the semifinals and Manny Mancha defeated Brian Collette, in the finals van Engelen defeated Mancha.

Also on the main card Sean Soriano bounced back from a 0-3 UFC record to defeat Josh Quayhagen.  Soriano pushed the pace with punches and body kicks until the Blackzilians standout countered a jab from Quayhagen resulting in the KO.  Soriano now stands undefeated outside the UFC at 9-3, Quayhagen exits 8-4.

LFC 48 results

  • LHW kickboxing tournament semifinals: Andres van Engelen def. Myron Dennis 2:15 R2 by KO
  • LHW kickboxing tournament semifinals: Manny Mancha def. Brian Collette
  • Trent Meaux def. Joel Scott by split decision
  • Gage Duhon def. Kolton Englund 1:52 R1 by TKO
  • Sean Soriano def. Josh Quayhagen 3:21 R1 by KO
  • MW title: Leonardo Leite def. Ryan Spann by unanimous decision
  • LHW kickboxing tournament finals: Andres van Engelen def. Manny Mancha R2 by KO