Lane rematches Lentz in defense of LW title at ROC 62

Jeff Lentz

Once again five Ring of Combat titles are on the line with ROC 62 headlined by Julian Lane defending the welterweight title against Jeff Lentz, a rematch of the bout that won Lane the title.  ROC 62 takes place March 2nd at the Tropicana Casino in Atlantic City, NJ with an iPPV at GoFightLive.

12-8-1 Julian Lane has put his TUF experience in 2012 to good use.  After a successful run in CES MMA where he was champion from August 2014-August 2015 Lane stumbled with three losses in a row.  In 2016 Lane moved to ROC where he lost to current ROC regional champion Bradley Desir then in his second run on TUF lost to Ramsey Nijem and finally in WFCA lost to Haseyn Daudov.  Despite those three losses Lane was given a title shot against Jeff Lentz in November where he won by unanimous decision.  11-6-1 Lentz is a familiar face in lightweight title fights in New Jersey.  Lentz lost to Andre Harrison for the ROC featherweight title in September 2014 then won the vacant lightweight title with a decision over George Sheppard in January 2015.  Lentz went back to featherweight to take the CFFC title that May but lost it to Bill Algeo in March 2016.  After twenty months off Lentz returned to ROC only to take the loss to Lane.

Bill AlgeoBill Algeo like Lentz has been in both ROC and CFFC at the title fight level.  Algeo actually fought Lentz for the CFFC featherweight title in March 2016 defeating him by unanimous decision.  After eleven months off Algeo lost the belt to Jared Gordon in February 2017 then moved to ROC where he defeated Tim Dooling for the belt with this fight being his first title defense.  Tevin Cooke enters this title challenge 5-1, 3-1 in ROC.  Cooke won is promotional debut with a TKO of David Wesly then lost to James Gonzalez, both at featherweight.  Cooke’s win over Paul Grant was a catchweight fight while his most recent win was at lightweight where he submitted Jack Cordero at ROC 61 in November.

Fight card

  • Adam Collarile vs. Sodik Ismailov
  • Chris Johnson vs. Andrew Salas
  • Charalampos Grigoriou vs. O’Brayan Ramirez
  • Jerome Mickle vs. Gilbert Patrocinio
  • Jonathan Romero vs. Edwin Smart
  • Nick Fiore vs. Nick Rodrigues
  • Wendell Sneed vs. Michael Elshamy
  • Tommy Espinosa vs. William Elliott
  • Brandon Urquijo vs. Phil Caracappa
  • Bradley Desir vs. Tajuddin Abdul Hakim
  • FW title: Bill Algeo vs. Tevin Cooke
  • WW title: Julian Lane vs. Jeff Lentz