Johnson to defend flywieght title against Reis at UFC Fight Night

Flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson defends the belt against #3 ranked Wilson Reis in the headline fight of UFC on Fox while in the co-main event #4 ranked Rose Namajunas takes on #6 Michelle Waterson.  UFC on Fox 24 (aka UFC on Fox: Johnson vs. Reis) takes place April 15th at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, MO with five prelims webcast at UFC Fight Pass, four prelims and the four-fight main card broadcast on Fox.

Demetrious Johnson still holds the record for longest active UFC championship reign with nine title defenses stretching back to when he won the inaugural flyweight title in September 2012.  Now standing 25-2-1 Johnson last loss came from Dominick Cruz for the UFC bantamweight title in October 2011 while his win streak rests at eleven in a row.  In the past year Johnson defended the belt against Henry Cejudo by TKO and Tim Elliott by unanimous decision with the Elliott fight being in December.  22-6 Wilson Reis is 6-2 in the UFC with his last loss being a unanimous decision against Jussier Formiga while his wins since then have been over Dustin Ortiz, Hector Sandoval, and Ulka Sasaki.

Wilson Reis

5-3 Rose Namajunas fought for the inaugural women’s strawweight title in December 2014, a fight she lost to now #9 ranked Carla Esparza by rear-naked choke in the third round.  Since then Namajunas defeated former Invicta FC champion Angela Hill, #11 ranked Paige VanZant, and handed #5 ranked Tecia Torres her first professional MMA loss before losing a split decision to #2 ranked Karolina Kowalkiewicz.  Michelle Waterson holds the #6 ranking with a record of 14-4 overall, 2-0 in the UFC.  After losing the Invicta FC title to Herica Tiburcio in December 2014 Waterson entered the UFC the following July where she defeated Angela Magana and Paige VanZant.  The downside to Waterson is her fight against Magana was in July 2015, the VanZant fight in December being her only fight in the past year-and-a-half.

Prelims at UFC Fight Pass

  • WBW: Ashlee Evans-Smith vs. Ketlen Vieira
  • WW: Zak Cummings vs. Nathan Coy
  • MW: Anthony Smith vs. Andrew Sanchez
  • LHW: Devin Clark vs. Jake Collier
  • BW: Aljamain Sterling vs. Augusto Mendes

Prelims on Fox

  • Flyweight: Tim Elliott vs. Louis Smolka
  • LW: Bobby Green vs. Rashid Magomedov
  • BW: Patrick Williams vs. Tom Duquesnoy
  • HW: Alexander Volkov vs. Roy Nelson

Main card

  • FW: Jeremy Stephens vs. Renato Moicano
  • MW: Ronaldo Souza vs. Robert Whittaker
  • W Strawweight: Rose Namajunas vs. Michelle Waterson
  • Flyweight title: Demetrious Johnson vs. Wilson Reis