Holtzman retains LW title, Gonzalez takes women’s flyweight belt at XFC 26

Two titles took place at XFC 26, one lopsided and one a come-from-behind victory.  XFC 26 took place October 18th at the Nashville Municipal Auditorium in Nashville, TN with a main card broadcast live on AXS TV.

In the main event Scott Holtzman defended his lightweight title for the first time, defeating Roger Carroll in a one-sided unanimous decision.  Reminiscent of Holtzman's victory over John Mahlow that earned the hometown hero the title Holtzman grounded and ground Carroll for the duration.  Carroll had moments where he went for submissions throughout the bout but Holtzman easily defended and went back on offense.  Holtzman remains undefeated at 6-0, the main question being who at XFC will be able to challenge him, Eric Reynolds seeming the only answer right now.

The co-main event was much more dramatic as Pearl Gonzalez barely held off Cortney Casey for two rounds until finding an armbar of her own in the third.  Casey's non-stop submission assault was impressive as she threatened ending the fight several times in rounds 1 and 2 but Casey stayed relatively calm and nailed the submission in the third.  Casey advances to 2-1, again raising questions of who else XFC has to challenge for the title.

XFC 26 results:

Willie Taylor Jr. def. Cromwell Stewart by unanimous decision
Mario Scott def. Jason Gifford by unanimous decision
Kenny Degenhardt def. Brian Hall by unanimous decision
Ben Brewer def. Anthony Lemon 4:59 R1 by armbar
Nate Jolly def. Gerric Hayes by unanimous decision
Luke Saunders def. Zach Underwood 3:38 R2 by TKO
Heather Clark def. Hannah Cifers by unanimous decision
Luis Santos def. Justin Davis 0:33 R1 by KO
Deivison Francisco Ribeiro def. Jason Hicks 4:08 R1 by TKO
Women's Flyweight title: Pearl Gonzalez def. Cortney Casey 4:43 R3 by armbar
LW title: Scott Holtzman def. Roger Carroll by unanimous decision
Nate Landwehr def. Keith Richardson 4:43 R1 by KO