Heinisch vs. Echeimberg for vacant MW title at LFA 22

Undefeated fighters clash for the vacant Legacy Fighting Alliance middleweight title as Ian Heinisch takes on Markus Perez Echeimberg.  The title was claimed June 22nd by Eryk Anders but just one month and one day Anders fought on UFC on Fox 25 and vacated the belt.  LFA 22 takes place September 8th at the 1stBank Center in Broomfield, CO with a main card broadcast on AXS TV.

Ian Heinisch returns to LFA for his second fight in the promotion with a record that stands at 8-0.  Despite the win over Lucas Rota at LFA 10 in April Heinisch is best known for his WSOF 29 win over Tyler Vogel while his other fights were in Colorado-based Sparta Combat League.  Markus Perez Echeimberg holds a record of 3-0 with this being his LFA debut.  So far Echeimberg defeated Bruno Silva, Rafa Silva, and Fabricio Almeida Goncalves with the Goncalves fight being his most recent on May 27th, 2016.

Gilbert Smith (bottom)

In the co-main event UFC vet Gilbert Smith has a “retirement bout” against Benjamin Smith in a battle of former RFA welterweight champions.  Gilbert Smith went 1-1 during both TUF Season 17 and 25 while his only “regular” UFC fight to date was a loss to Bubba McDaniel on the Season 17 finale in April 2013.  In the first match in June 2015 between Gilbert and Benjamin it was Gilbert who walked away with the third-round submission win and the RFA title, a belt he defended against Bristol Marunde that October before relinquishing it.  Last year Gilbert took losses in Bellator from Fernando Gonzalez and Ricky Rainey that left his pro record 12-6.  13-3 Benjamin Smith won the RFA belt with a TKO of Tat Romero before losing it to Gilbert.  Since then Benjamin defeated Craig Eckelberg and Bojan Velickovic with the Velickovic fight being again for the belt at RFA 34 in January 2016.  This is Benjamin’s first fight in 20 months.

Fight card

  • Maurice Salazar-Garcia vs. Phil Gonzalez
  • Jonathon Wyderko vs. Juan Gonzalez
  • Adam Vigil vs. Mike Jones
  • Mallory Martin vs. Maycee Barber
  • Demetrius Wilson vs. Brandon Royval
  • Mario Carvalho vs. Adam Martinez
  • Gilbert Smith vs. Benjamin Smith
  • MW title: Ian Heinisch vs. Markus Perez Echeimberg