Gomez defeats Yusuff, claims vacant FW title at Titan FC 47

A beautiful arm drag into face plant won Luis Gomez the vacant Titan FC FW title against Sodiq Yusuff.  Titan FC 47 took place December 15th at the Xtreme Action Park in Ft. Lauderdale, FL with a webcast at UFC Fight Pass.

The main event started out with Sodiq Yusuff trying to set up his powerful right hand while Luis Gomez tried a couple times to take the fight to the mat.  About three minutes in it was actually Gomez who stunned Yusuff with a hook but Yusuff managed to disengage from the resulting clinch.  Referee Jorge Alonzo briefly separated the fighters to warn Yusuff to keep his lead hand closed to prevent poking the eye of Gomez and the fight was restarted with about a minute left.  Soon after the restart Gomez closed for a couple right hands then grabbed the right arm of Yusuff and dragged him face-first to the mat.  With Yusuff stunned by the impact Gomez fired off a couple punches to the head for the TKO.  Gomez took home the featherweight title with a record of 6-1 with his only loss being to Dan Ige in DWTNCS, Yusuff took his first professional loss to emerge 5-1.

Gustavo Balart used his wrestling to win a split decision over Bruno Mesquita in the co-main event.  Mesquita tried to use his five-inch reach advantage to keep Balart at striking range where he scored with knees as Balart drove in or tried to stick and move.  Balart kept driving forward for takedowns but took a lot of damage to do so and was unable to keep his opponent down for long.  In the end Balart was awarded the split decision with two judges scoring the bout 30-27 for Balart, one seeing it 29-28 Mesquita.  Balart remained undefeated at 6-0, Mesquita dropped to 7-3.

Titan FC 47 results

  • Denzel Freeman def. Davaun McKoy 4:19 R2 by TKO
  • Hannah Cifers def. Thais Souza by unanimous decision
  • Steve Mowry def. Frank Tate 2:31 R1 by arm triangle choke
  • Frederico Moncaio def. Marcos Lloreda 2:01 R1 by inverted triangle choke
  • Rico Farrington def. Michael Cora by split decision
  • Beibet Nazarov def. Demarques Jackson by split decision
  • Michael Batista def. Edison Lopes by unanimous decision
  • Gustavo Balart def. Bruno Mesquita by split decision
  • FW title: Luis Gomez def. Sodiq Yusuff 4:12 R1 by TKO