Former LHW champion Liam McGeary gets Brett McDermott as replacement opponent for Bellator 173

Liam McGeary’s third scheduled opponent to headline Bellator 173 is now Brett McDermott.  Originally the former light heavyweight champion was scheduled to face Chris Fields until Fields had to withdraw due to injury.  Vladimir Filipovic was scheduled to replace Fields but Filipovic ran into visa issues and had to be withdrawn from the card.  The show must go on so now McDermott steps in with four-day notice.  Bellator 173/BAMMA 28 is a combined show between the two promotions with the undercard webcast at, main card broadcast on Spike TV.

Liam McGeary (L)

Liam McGeary was Bellator’s light heavyweight champion from the time he defeated Emanuel Newton in February 2015 through one title defense against former UFC champion Tito Ortiz until losing the belt to Phil Davis in November.  That loss to Davis was McGeary’s only loss in his 11-1 record that dates back to May 2010 with eight of those wins being in Bellator.  BAMMA vet Brett McDermott makes his Bellator debut with a record of 7-4, 2-1 in 2016 with a loss to Kenneth Bergh between wins over Jamie Sloane and most recently Dan Konecke.

The co-main event expands Bellator’s women’s divisions as Sinead Kavanagh faces Inoy Razafiarison at featherweight.  Kavanagh is undefeated at 4-0 with three fights in BAMMA and one in Bellator, he most recent fight being a unanimous decision over Elina Kallionidou for her Bellator debut in December.  Razafiarison enters the cage 1-1 with one “no contest”, her most recent fight being her Bellator debut where she lost to Bryanna Fissori in June 2015.

BAMMA 28 card

  • Declan Dalton vs. Jonathan Brookins
  • Will Fleury vs. Kyle McClurkin
  • Glenn Irvine vs. Keith McCabe
  • Olejniczak vs. Jonathan Reid
  • Niall Smith vs. Daniel Rutkowski
  • Blaine O’Driscoll vs. Ross McCorriston
  • Andrew Murphy vs. Stephen Kilifin
  • Steve Owens vs. Jai Herbert
  • Colin Fletcher vs. Alex Lohore
  • John Redmond vs. Pelu Adetola
  • Rhys McKee vs. Chris Stringer
  • FW title: Ronnie Mann vs. Damien Lapilus
  • Interim flyweight title: Andy Young vs. Dominique Wooding
  • Norman Parke vs. Paul Redmond


Bellator 173 card

  • Colin Fletcher vs. Alex Lohore
  • James Gallagher vs. Kirill Medvedovsky
  • Sinead Kavanagh vs. Iony Razafiarison
  • Liam McGeary vs. Brett McDermott