Former LFC champion Myron Dennis faces Danilo Marques at LFA 9

Myron Dennis
Myron Dennis

Legacy Fighting Alliance continue their surge in live events with the second of three shows scheduled for April, LFA 9 with Danilo Marques vs. Myron Dennis headlining.  LFA 9 takes place April 14th at the Firelake Arena in Shawnee, OK with a main card broadcast on AXS TV.

13-5 Myron Dennis briefly was LFC champion from March 2014 when he won a split decision over Paul Buentello until September of that year when he lost by TKO of Leo Leite.  After losing the title Dennis picked up two wins then went 1-1 on TUF Season 23 in 2016 defeating Jamelle Jones then losing to Andrew Sanchez.  Dennis in MMA went on to go 1-1 in regional promotions with a win over Max Trevino and a loss to Tony Lopez while balancing MMA with kickboxing.  Danilo Marques makes his promotions debut with a 5-1 record.  Marques’ only loss was to Marcio Teles in August 2016 which he followed up with a submission of Lorival Lourenco Jr. in February.  Dennis is a very accurate kickboxer but in his LFC fights he showed a weakness for wrestling as he picked apart fellow striker Buentello but seemed unable to come up with a strategy against Leites.

Demoreo Dennis

The co-main event takes place at heavyweight as Dontale Mayes fights Demoreo Dennis.  6-4 Dennis was on the Battleground MMA pay-per-view card in October 2014 but his follow-up fight in LFC ended in a loss to Pat Berry in January 2015.  In the last two years Dennis’ only fight was a win over Gary Frazier in regional promotion Freestyle Cage Fighting, a TKO that won Dennis the promotion’s heavyweight title.  Dontale Mayes enters this bout undefeated but inexperienced at 2-0.  So far Mayes holds wins in regional promotions over Harry Hunsucker Jr. and Arnold Adams.

Fight card

  • Triston Gwaltney vs. Michael Smith
  • Cara Greenwell vs. Leann Adkisson
  • Kristina Williams vs. TBA
  • Akeeme Williams vs. Trey Angstadt
  • Charles Williams vs. Kevin Goodin
  • Josh Anderson vs. AJ Nichols
  • Daniel Carey vs. Jr. Coughran
  • Malcolm Hill vs. Eddie Brown
  • Nathan Trepagnier vs. Travis Quintero
  • Jose Martinez vs. Sabina Mazo
  • Dontale Mayes vs. Demoreo Dennis
  • Danilo Marques vs. Myron Dennis