Dantas faces Caldwell in defense of BW title at Bellator 184

Eduardo Dantas

Eduardo Dantas’ third defense of the Bellator bantamweight title comes this weekend against Darrion Caldwell.  Bellator 184 takes place October 6th at the WinStar World Casino in Thackerville, OK with an undercard webstreamed at Spike.com, main card broadcast on Spike TV.

In Eduardo Dantas’ first reign as bantamweight champion from 2012-14 he won the title against Zach Makovsky and defended it against Marcos Galvao and Anthony Leone before losing it to Joe Warren.  Dantas bounced back with a win over Mike Richman then took the title from Marcos Galvao in June 2016 then defended it in a rematch against Warren in December.  Dantas’ fight against Leandro Higo was supposed to be a title defense but Higo missed weight making that win for Dantas count for his record but reduced to a non-title fight.  Dantas enters this bout 20-4 with four wins in a row since Warren who is still Dantas’ only loss in Bellator.  In MMA Darrion Caldwell is 10-1 with his only loss being to Joe Taimanglo in July 2016.  That loss came after a rear-naked choke of Warren that March while since then Caldwell defeated Joe Taimanglo in December.

Darrion Caldwell

In the co-main event Daniel Straus returns for his first fight since losing the featherweight title as he takes on Emmanuel Sanchez.  Straus like Dantas is a two-time champion with his first reign being from November 2013 until March 2014 when he defeated then lost a rematch to Pat Curran.  Straus was again champion from November 2015 until April 2017 with a win over Patricio Freire but again a loss in his first defense in a rematch, this time by Guillotine choke which left his record 25-7.  15-3 Sanchez holds a loss to Curran in June 2015 and one to Daniel Weichel in July 2016 with those being his only losses in his nine Bellator fights.  Since the Weichel loss Sanchez picked up wins over Georgi Karakhanyan and Marcos Galvao in January and March of this year respectively.

Daniel Straus

Prelims on Spike TV

  • WW: Justin Patterson vs. Chance Rencountre
  • FW: Gaston Reyno vs. Westin Wilson
  • LW: Steve Kozola vs. Carrington Banks

Main card

  • BW: Joe Taimanglo vs. Leandro Higo
  • FW: Pat Curran vs. John Teixeira
  • FW: Daniel Straus vs. Emmanuel Sanchez
  • BW title: Eduardo Dantas vs. Darrion Caldwell