CWFC 73 split into two cards: Ray defends LW belt in rubber match against Warburton, Enlund faces Narimani for vacant FW title

Cage Warriors Fighting Championship have outdone themselves for CWFC 73 as the card now has to be split into two broadcasts, one at 6 PM and one at 9 PM local time.  The downside is as of this writing there is no word on which fights will be on which broadcast and therefore fans won’t know when to tune in to catch which fighters.  CWFC 73 takes place November 1st at the Metro Radio Arena in Newcastle, England with a live webcast at

In one main event Steven Ray defends the lightweight title against Curt Warburton, a rematch of their June war at CWFC 69.  Ray firs won the belt by winning the CWFC 60 tournament in October 2013 but lost it in his first defense to Ivan Buchinger at CWFC 63 in December.  At CWFC 69 in June Ray recaptured the vacant belt by defeating Warburton by split decision.  To make matters more complicated this is actually Ray’s third match against Warburton, their first meeting at BAMMA 12 in Mar 2013 resulted in Warburton winning a unanimous decision.  While Ray is 3-1 since their first meeting 13-5 Warburton has gone 1-2 in the same time.  First there was the TKO loss to Mansour Barnaoui followed by a rear-naked choke win over Wesley Murch and most recently the split decision loss to Ray in their second meeting.

The main event of the other broadcast features Alex Enlund vs. Nad Narimani for the vacant featherweight title.  10-2 Enlund enters this bout on a three-fight win streak consisting of rear-naked chokes of Sebastian Romanowski, Danny Lawson, and Artem Lobov.  7-1 Narimani’s last three fights were a split decision loss to Graham Turner, a rear-naked choke of Theo Michailidis, and a rear-naked choke of Benjamin Brander.

Also on these two cards are Bellator vets Ronnie Mann and Jim Wallhead in separate fights, likely the co-main events of each card.  23-7-1 Mann faces 11-4 Moktar Benkaci while Wallhead fights Juan Manuel Suarez.

CWFC 73 card

  • Michael Abbott vs. Danny Suter
  • Irene Cabello vs. Vanessa Reinsch
  • Ellis Hampson vs. Lewis Monarch
  • Mark Connor vs. Ian Malone
  • Paddy Pimblett vs. Stephen Martin
  • Leeroy Barnes vs. Kyle Redfearn
  • Liam James vs. Dean Trueman
  • Brett Caswell vs. Marcin Lasota
  • Lewis Long vs/ Matt Inman
  • Shaj Haque vs. Damien Rooney
  • Moktar Benkaci vs. Ronnie Mann
  • Jim Wallhead vs. Juan Manuel Suarez
  • FW title: Alex Enlund vs. Nad Narimani
  • LW title: Steven Ray vs. Curt Warburton