Cormier rematches Johnson in defense of LHW title at UFC 210

Its been 22 years since the UFC held an event in Buffalo, NY but that will change as UFC 210 lands with Daniel Cormier defending the light heavyweight title in a rematch against Anthony Johnson.  UFC 210 takes place April 8th at the KeyBank Center in Buffalo, NY with four fights webcast at UFC Fight Pass, five broadcast on Fox Sports 1, and five fights broadcast as a pay-per-view.

Daniel Cormier

The first fight between Daniel Cormier and Anthony Johnson was over the then-vacant belt in May of 2015, a fight Cormier won by rear-naked choke.  Since then Cormier defended the belt against #2 ranked Alexander Gustafsson then in a non-title fight defeated former middleweight champion Anderson Silva to enter this defense 18-1, is only loss being to Jon Jones for the title in January 2015.  #1 ranked Anthony Johnson stand 22-5 with his loss to Cormier his only loss in 13 fights or five years.  After the loss to Cormier Johnson defeated #4 ranked Jimi Manuwa, Ryan Bader, and #3 Glover Texeira.

Chris Weidman

The co-main event features former middleweight champion and #4 ranked Chris Weidman vs.  #5 ranked middleweight Gegard Mousasi.  Weidman was champion from July 2013 when he defeated Anderson Silva until losing the belt to currently ranked #2 Luke Rockhold in December 2015.  Weidman’s only fight since the Rockhold loss was a loss to #1 Yoel Romero in November, a fight that left Weidman 13-2.  41-6-2 Gegard Mousasi is riding four wins in a row with a unanimous decision over Thales Leites followed by KO/TKOs of Thiago Santos, Vitor Belfort, and Uriah Hall.  Mousasi’s first fight against Hall is Mousasi’s only loss in seven fights or two years.


Gegard Mousasi

Prelims at UFC Fight Pass

  • Flyweight: Jenel Lausa vs. Magomed Bibulatov
  • WBW: Katlyn Chookagian vs. Irene Aldana
  • LW: Josh Emmett vs. Desmond Green
  • LW: Gregor Gillespie vs. Andrew Holbrook

Prelims on Fox Sports 1

  • LHW: Patrick Cummins vs. Jan Blachowicz
  • FW: Charles Rosa vs. Shane Burgos
  • WW: Kamaru Usman vs. Sean Strickland
  • FW: Myles Jury vs. Mike De La Torre

Pay-per-view card

  • LW: Will Brooks vs. Charles Oliveira
  • WW: Thiago Alves vs. Patrick Cote
  • W Strawweight: Cynthia Calvillo vs. Pearl Gonzalez
  • MW: Chris Weidman vs. Gegard Mousasi
  • LHW title: Daniel Cormier vs. Anthony Johnson