Campbell replaces injured Gallicchio, faces Edwards at MFC 41

Maximum Fighting Championship as a promotion is having a rough year.  The last MFC event was five months ago where Sam Alvey defended the middleweight title and Tom Gallicchio won the vacant lightweight title.  Since that time Alvey vacated the belt to fight in the UFC leaving Gallicchio the sole MFC champion, all the others having already moved on.  Now after a long summer for MFC Gallicchio was set to make his first title defense at MFC 41 until an elbow injury forced the champion out of the main event bout against Marcus Edwards leaving MFC to shuffle around the card, the repercussions from which are still being felt.  MFC 41 takes place October 3rd at the Shaw Conference Center in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada with a main card broadcast live on AXS TV.

The new main event sees Edwards fight replacement Shane Campbell.  8-2 Edwards is on a four-fight win streak with his two most recent being in MFC, rear-naked chokes of Sean Powers and Aaron Gallant.  9-2 Campbell took a loss to Jesse Ronson by rear-naked choke last year before making a successful MFC debut in May with a TKO of Jerrid Burke.  If Edwards wins he will be named the interim champion, if Campbell comes out victorious he will earn a shot at the vacant welterweight title against a yet-unnamed opponent.

The co-main event is a battle of experience vs. potential as Victor Valimaki looks to hand Jeremy Osheim his first professional loss.  18-8 Valimaki took three losses backing n 2010 then took fourteen months off before coming back to defeat Tim Chemelli in February 2012 and two years off before again returning to defeat Bill Widler in May of this year.  5-0 Osheim is making his MFC debut after defeating Todd Stoute by unanimous decision in May.

MFC 41 card:

  • Brad Katona vs. TBA
  • Kyle Oliveira vs. TBA
  • Michael Hay vs. TBA
  • Graham Park vs. Sheldon Adamson
  • Chris Chapman vs. Christopher Boisvert
  • Advin Omic vs. Marcus Hicks
  • Corey Gower vs. Josh Wright
  • Jared McComb vs. Miles Anstead
  • Carl Dieckmann vs. TBA
  • Andrew McInnes vs. Ryan Healy
  • Victor Valimaki vs. Jeremy Osheim
  • Marcus Edwards vs. Shane Campbell