Bader easily defends LHW title against Lassell at Bellator 186

There were few surprises at Bellator 186 as UFC vet Ryan Bader successfully defended the middleweight title for the first time while Ilima-Lei Macfarlane took the inaugural women’s flyweight title in a rematch against Emily Ducote.  Bellator 186 took place November 3rd at the Bryce Jordan Center in University Park, PA with an undercard webstreamed at, main card broadcast on Spike TV.

Ryan Bader simply dominated Linton Vassell with wrestling.  Vassell landed early kicks but Bader walked him down, took him down, and punished the challenger with strikes in both rounds.  As Vassell wore down in the second round Bader secured position and trapped Vassell’s arm making it impossible to defend the punches which forced the TKO.  Bader’s first defense of the light heavyweight title improved his record to 24-5 with four wins in a row, his last loss being to Anthony Johnson in the UFC in January 2016.  Vassell fell to 18-6.

Although Ilima-Lei Macfarlane’s win over Emily Ducote came by submission most of the fight was Macfarlane outperforming Ducote on the feet in a fight that went longer than but was about the same as their first encounter.  Ducote landed the occasional leg kick while Macfarlane scored with punches and knees in the clinch for the first four rounds.  In the fifth Macfarlane found the fight-ending triangle armbar, her fourth submission in her still-perfect 7-0 career.  Ducote dropped to 6-3.

Bellator’s next two events are in Ireland and Israel before returning to Oklahoma for Bellator 189 on December 1st.

Bellator 186 results

  • Josh Fremd def. Ryan Parker 1:25 R2 by rear-naked choke
  • Andrew Salas def. Ethan Goss by split decision
  • Scott Clymer def. Mike Putnam 3:07 R1 by TKO
  • Frank Buenafuente def. Francis Healy by unanimous decision
  • Tywan Claxton def. Jonathan Bowman 1:29 R1 by KO
  • Logan Storley def. Matt Secor by unanimous decision
  • Dominick Mazzotta def. Matt Lozano 2: 37 R1 by TKO
  • Michael Trizano def. Mike Otwell 2:07 R2 by D’Arce choke
  • Mike Wilkins def. Brett Martinez 1:09 R2 by rear-naked choke
  • Saad Awad def. Zach Freeman 1:07 R1 by TKO
  • Ed Ruth def. Chris Dempsey 0:27 R2 by KO
  • Phil Davis def. Leonardo Leite by unanimous decision
  • W Flyweight title: Ilima-Lei Macfarlane def. Emily Ducote 3:42 R5 by triangle armbar
  • LHW title: Ryan Bader def. Linton Vassell 3:58 R2 by TKO